Crampon rentals

Clothes, tools, technology, nutrition, training, techniques, etc.
brian90620

Post by brian90620 »

Hello everyone, I was wondering if anyone happens to know a place to rent Crampons. I am new to winter hiking on ice/snow and was wondering if anyone knows a spot to rent them locally in LA, or Orange County. Thanks..........any tips you guys can give me would be extremely helpful.................
simonov

Post by simonov »

I have heard on other forums they are difficult to rent, as there is some kind of concern about liability, but I have rented them twice without any problem at all at my local REI in Santa Ana. Maybe different stores have different policies.

There's doubtless an REI near you, so call them to see whether they rent them. If not, I can assure you the Santa Ana store will.

You probably shouldn't be walking on crampons without carrying an ice axe as well. We can now get all paranoid about the level of certified training you need to use crampons and ice axe, but I've done okay by skimming The Freedom of the Hills and looking at the diagrams, plus some hands-on coaching by He219. Of course, the test will come when I actually fall off an icy mountain and stop myself.
Nunc est bibendum
Hikin_Jim

Post by Hikin_Jim »

Be careful out there. Ice accidents do claim people every year. Not trying to be sensationalistic, and I'm certainly not the expert, but don't think of crampon use as a trivial matter either.
ClamberAbout

Post by ClamberAbout »

Okay, NOOB here, I'll chime in:

Ice axes and crampons go together, or not at all.

Think about it:

Wearing crampons has a certain amount of risk in and of itself. Anyone who's worn them any number of times and hooked a crampon on their pant leg or something and fallen flat on their face can attest to that.