Day Pack Recommendations

Clothes, tools, technology, nutrition, training, techniques, etc.
Uncle Rico

Post by Uncle Rico »

So I've been using an Osprey Talon 22 for the past 7 years or so and it's finally developed a small hole in the bottom and on one of the mesh hip-belt pockets. I don't really need a replacement, but I may use this an excuse to pick up a new bag anyway. ?

For me, 22-25 liter volume is optimal for a day bag. Also on the wish list are:
  • Hydration reservoir
  • Stretch side pockets (not mesh)
  • Stretch shove-it pocket (not mesh)
  • Hip belt pocket (not mesh)
  • Exterior attachment features for sticks, etc.
  • A small pocket or 2 for glasses, keys, maps, etc., but I don't need a ton of "organization."
In doing some searching, I haven't come across a bag that hits all of these points precisely. The Osprey Skarab 32 fits the bill in every respect, but it is a little bigger than I was hoping for. The Osprey Skarab 24 has everything I want except hip belt pockets. The MHM Switch 26 has everything but exterior attachment features.

So does anyone have a suggestion for my "perfect" bag? I could always get another Talon 22 (which has been a solid bag), but I don't know that I like the new "Stow-on-the-Go" trekking pole attachment. I also have a couple of other very minor nit-picks about the Talon which admittedly may have been addressed in the "new and improved" version.

Anyhoo, I can definitely live without the Holy Grail of day packs and get one of the above bags, but before I do, I'd interested in what you guys/gals have to say on the subject.
JeffH

Post by JeffH »

I like the pole storage options on my Osprey Atmos backpack but that is a totally different kind of hiking. For day hikes I use a REI Flash 18 which I really like because it's light and simple - doesn't have most of the things on your list. In the winter I'll bring my old REI Traverse which is 30 liters to carry bulkier stuff.