Shoes for bushwhacking/rugged trails

Clothes, tools, technology, nutrition, training, techniques, etc.
Anthony

Post by Anthony »

What's your preferred shoe/boot for bushwhacking or hiking on rugged trails?

I've been using La Sportiva's Bushido trail runners for a couple years but they have limitations on particularly rugged treks.
Girl Hiker

Post by Girl Hiker »

I love Oboz! I think the ones I have now are my 5th or 6th pair. They have a good grip especially for rock scrambling!
dima

Post by dima »

I'm using HiTec Mount Diablos now. They're about the fanciest thing at Big5, and cost ~ $70. I'm seeing them work about as well as the $200 shoes at REI: they're comfortable, but don't last very long if you're doing a lot of bushwhacking. I haven't found anything that does. I'm OK with spending $$$ to get something that actually is durable, but so far my experience with the medium-$ REI shoes is that they fall apart relatively quickly, and I don't want to do expensive experiments. How durable are the Bushidos and the Oboz?
Uncle Rico

Post by Uncle Rico »

I usually wear mid-cut Merrell Moab 2s. They are reasonably-priced and durable enough I suppose. I've had Oboz and Keen boots before which are super comfy but their durability is shite.
Girl Hiker

Post by Girl Hiker »

I beg to differ. I love my Oboz.
I do alot of rock scrambling and bushwacking. They've never fallen apart on me. He'll I've even walked in pools of water with them. I don't wear the boot Oboz. I never liked hiking boots.
But everyone is entitled to their opinion.
AW~

Post by AW~ »

Depends on the X-C terrain scale...the more the scale the more I am skeptical.
First question is.."who does this?" And at say, 6 on the scale, ...few people design for it. By that time, you are wearing gloves and have a good clue what works.

You can look at Oboz, and know its limitation, because someone prioritize breathe-ability...which at best would mean I carry another shoe for X-C.