Introduction and some spots in the San Gabriel Mountains

TRs for the San Gabriel Mountains.
carl swindle

Post by carl swindle »

Hi,

My name is Carl and I'm a little new to this forum and I really enjoy all of the posts and trip reports on this website. I explore the San Gabriel's a bunch and thought I'd quickly share pictures from some of my recent trips. This is my first time posting here so I hope it all loads correctly. I can do more detailed posts about individual routes in the future if people are interested. If anyone has any questions, please let me know.

Here are some pictures of a recent trip I did to Rankin Peak from Monrovia Hillside Preserve on February 10th, 2024. The fire breaks were manageable and they were not extremely overgrown for the most part, although it was bushy. I was planning on going to Monrovia Peak, but I wasn't prepared for how much snow there was on the fire breaks in the backcountry. Now, I'm planning on doing Monrovia in the Spring along the same route when the snow melts away so I can move quickly along the fire breaks.
IMG_8335.jpeg
IMG_8343.jpeg
Here are some pictures of a recent trip I did along the Pacoima Canyon from the Dillon Divide to one of my favorite waterholes and some of the mines on February 3rd, 2024. The trail was pretty nice until a little past the Denver Indicator Mine, but cleared up near the waterhole on the main fork just past the south form of the canyon.
IMG_8080.jpeg
IMG_8100.jpeg
IMG_8207.jpeg
Here are some pictures of the waterfalls upstream from Sapphire Falls in Rancho Cucamonga on January 27th, 2024. I'd say half of the route is on West Cucamonga Truck Trail and the other half is rock hopping up a creek. I think Sapphire Falls is still closed, but I've seen videos on YouTube with recent trip reports so I am a little confused about what the status is there. I'd love to go when it opens officially or soon if it is already.
IMG_7850.jpeg
IMG_7882.jpeg
IMG_7934.jpeg